Search

Loading...

4/11/12

If You Liked Downton Abbey...


Are you missing the BBC's Downton Abbey as much as I am? Here are a few recs to tide you over until season three comes around. I absolutely adored Julian Fellowes' Gosford Park, so I had a pretty good feeling that I was going to enjoy Downton Abbey before it even aired.  This same theory held true for these two novels, also written by Julian Fellowes: Snobs and Past Imperfect.  If you're like me, and like to exhaust a certain theme once you get into it, then you'll love these two books based on British aristocracy, albeit during somewhat more modern times.


Speaking of exhausting a theme, I've just downloaded The Patrick Melrose Novels by Edward St. Aubyn, anyone read these yet? I'll be sure to let you know how this was when I'm done!

14 comments:

  1. I LOVED Snobs!! Such a great romp in the British social circles. I didn't think Past Imperfect held up as well and I have never read the St. Aubyn - will have to check them out!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm having complete withdrawal from Downton Abbey. I almost started watching the episodes again. Will have to check out Snobs. Jullian Fellowes just seems to understand his subject!

    xo Elizabeth

    ReplyDelete
  3. TOTAL DOWNTON ABBEY WITHDRAWAL!
    I love to read and really have to start making the time to do it again... Thanks for sharing and have a great day! Jalon

    ReplyDelete
  4. I just KNOW I will love these Julian Fellows books!! Thank you for the recommendations Sue!

    xoxo
    Karena
    Art by Karena

    ReplyDelete
  5. So grateful for this post as I have just finished The Night Circus (which I loved!) and while my son thinks I'd like The Hunger Games, I'm looking for something a little more elegant... Will have to download Julian on my Kindle to enjoy with my cupcakes!
    xxoo

    ReplyDelete
  6. I am such an anglophile. I know I'd gobble those books up in an English heartbeat.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Thanks for the suggestions - I am INDEED missing Downton Abbey! Can't wait to pick them up :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. There's nothing like British period drama! I'm looking forward to seeing Julian Fellowes' Titanic. Thank you for the tip, I'll certainly look out for these books. Rachael xx

    ReplyDelete
  9. I am absolutely DYING without Downton, and we have to wait until 2013... talk about a buzz kill!! Excited for these reads!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Ooooooo, thanks for the recommendations! I am sooo having withdrawals from Downton. Maybe these will help curb that.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Can't wait to try these! Thanks for the recommendation! Total withdrawal - you know it's good when my "fantasy football" lovin' husband quotes Downton and asked when it was starting back. The Tory Burch book of the week a few weeks ago suggested "House of Tyneford" By Natasha Solomons to help with the symptoms!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Well we're hooked too. But until series three hits the screens, we've been working on a new book about great houses in Britain (Beyond Downton Abbey)...

    ReplyDelete
  13. Ahhh Julian Fellows' books are great! Also, so is the American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin - she's a little like Lady Mary torn between two men.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I have heard such great things about Downton Abbey! I need to get on board :)

    ReplyDelete

Got something to share? Would love to hear it. I read every single comment:)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Google+